Under the Federal Worker Adjustment & Retraining Notification (WARN) Act, an employer must give you 60 days written notice before you are laid off, and must pay you for these 60 days.
The WARN money is in addition to any severance payments you may be entitled to. Therefore, if you are entitled to 60 months of severance, you will receive 60-days pay for the WARN act and 6 months of severance pay, in addition to any health insurance benefits you may be entitled to
Most states have a state version of the WARN law
Federal WARN ACT
If your employer fails to provide you the required 60 days-notice and does not pay you for the 60 days, you may file a complaint with the Federal Department of Labor (DOL). You may also file a complaint with the state agency that enforces this law.
For example, if you live in California, type California and Warn ACT in any search engine to locate the California agency responsible for this law
You can learn more about the WARN Act here. There is a Federal WARN ACT and most states have a state version of the WARN ACT. As a result, you can file a complaint with the Department of Labor (DOL) for the Federal law and the agency that enforces the WARN ACT in your state.
If you live in these states, please go to the first link to determine what an employer must report to a state agency before they workers are laid off
Then go to the 2nd link to learn what your employer sent to your state agency about the number of employees that have or will be laid off.
We recommend you copy this posting to your own computer as it is not uncommon for an employer to insist web site operators such as this one delete postings like this from their web site
Arizona Warn Act
California Warn Act
For general questions about the WARN Act, contact the California WARN Act Coordinator
Colorado Warn Act
Select View real-time WARN updates
Georgia Warn Act
Massachusetts Warn Act
Scroll down and select the WARN Report for Fiscal Year 2022
New York State
Select View WARN database
Nevada Warn Act
Select WARN Act Notices